Ohio State must hate Arizona: Texas wins Fiesta Bowl

Ohio State must hate the state of Arizona.

In 2007 the Buckeyes went to the University of Phoenix Stadium in a BCS Game (the National Championship Game), and were trashed by the Florida Gators.

In 2009, the Buckeyes again went to University of Phoenix Stadium in a BCS Game. This time, it was a lot closer. The defense stepped up. Terrelle Pryor frightened the life out of the Texas Longhorns defense with his legs. But after 60 minutes, it was the same outcome. Ohio State lost again - this time in a 24-21 classic.

Forget everything you thought you knew about the Big Ten after this game. People can call Big Ten football as "slow" and "undersized" as they want - but Ohio State were certainly neither. The Buckeyes did themselves credit.

Beanie Wells ran roughshod on Texas' poor running 'D', going for 106 yards. A concussion at the start of the second half ended his challenge. Pryor had 66 of this own.

But, like their conference rivals Penn State had done against USC, penalties killed the Big Ten. Their seven 'penalties' may have gone for 67 yards - but a helmet-to-helmet penalty (a debatable one at that) on Thaddeus Gibson - proved to be key. The shot led to a Longhorns touchdown, putting them up 17-6.

Oh, and the Buckeyes also had to come up against Colt McCoy.

McCoy- who threw for 414 yards and two touchdowns - including the winning 78 yard drive in under two minutes - was simply fantastic, repeatedly exploiting OSU's secondary.

And with McCoy - and roommate/favorite target Jordan Shipley coming back - Longhorns fans should be excited about 2009, too.

And just one point about Boeckman, Laurinitis et al who are going to the NFL. Would Ohio State Buckeyes fans say that this group is the most successful in Ohio State history, or the biggest letdown.


1) Ohio State has won two Big Ten titles since 2005.
2) And gone to two National Championships.
3) And four BCS Bowls
4) And just won ONE out of those four...and that was against Notre Dame!

Here's the moment that broke the Buckeyes' hearts for the third straight year: